One Year since I quit the classroom – Success story

Standard

Once a teacher, always a teacher.

It is part of who we are,
how we long to listen/clarify/explain/help

We help others educate themselves
understand, interact with, and better
their environment/culture/neighborhood/family/themselves

I am no longer a formal teacher though.
A year ago, I quit working for Chicago Public Schools.

Stuff happened that was unfair, and out of my control.
Some people in high positions had feelings for parties that did not reciprocate.

There were power struggles, adults refused to take offered help.
And the children lost out.

I repeat, the children lost out.
School should be about getting resources,
and providing them to the children we served.

When it wasn’t about the children; I had to leave.
Especially when I was being persecuted for still putting the children first.

I don’t regret leaving.
And I love the people who stayed and fought
through the struggles and through the pettiness to keep the school running.

I had to leave because work got violent.
I wasn’t okay with that.

If anyone is hateful towards you at work, and comprimises your safety.
It is okay to leave.
If you joined a group or cause, and they move in a direction you are not okay with: then leave!
It will be better for you and for them.

Go confidently in a direction you feel safe and comfortable treading!

One thought on “One Year since I quit the classroom – Success story

Leave a Reply - Chat it up! - Be kind~

